Wallis Simpson’s Jewellery, How I Covet Thee…

by @style

Diamond and onyx panther bracelet

As Wallis Simpson’s astounding jewellery collection once again comes up for auction I thought I’d do a small post about it as it’s so incredible.

The story of Mrs Simpson is huge, so, in a nutshell:

She was a twice divorced American.

The British king saw her and fell in love.

The British king abdicated the throne so that he could marry her.

All the Brits went mental and called her a harlot.

The King loved her very much and bought her lots of  lovely things from Cartier.

They lived happily ever after.

The end.

I won’t go into all the sordid details of Wallis Simpson’s life, if you want to read the whole anthology you can get it on Wikipedia HERE.

The jewellery is being auctioned by Sotheby’s in November, so from now till then I’ll be buying up Euromillions tickets like a maniac! The whole collection is expected to fetch in excess of £3 million! I reckon, however, because of its social significance it will eventually go for much more. Much of the jewellery is inscribed with affectionate messages from Edward, so not only is it an incredible record of Cartier’s genius, its a record of perhaps the greatest love story of the 20th century.

If my Euromillions numbers don’t come up between now and the sale I’ll just have to keep collection vintage costume jewellery for my collection. Just as gorgeous but not so brutal on the bank balance nor likely to get me bludgeoned to death in the street!

Wallis when she was presented at court several years before Edward abdicated for her

Cartier flamingo

Cartier cigarette case

Wallis and Edward

Engraved neccesaire du soir

A quite gorgeous brooch, Cartier, of course

Wallis in a lovely brooch

