The 1950s Dress to End ALL 1950s Dresses!

by @style

This dress came in on Saturday from a collector who always brings in the most fabulous things. She has been collecting since the 70s and her collection is incredible. She’s sold me some fabulous things over the last year and she was planning on keeping this one just because it is so beautiful, but decided to let it go to someone who will treasure it as much as she has. She bought this one in London’s Steinberg and Tolkien years ago and I have to say I was completely blown away by it. It is without a doubt the most incredible 1950s dress I’ve ever seen. It has an internal bodice with boning to give that particular 50s shape so beloved of stars like Liz Taylor and Sophia Loren and is completely encrusted in beads and sequins. It’s so heavy I had to get two people to help me get it on the dummy. This dress deserves to be worn for many more years and whoever gets the pleasure will be a very lucky girl.

